Thursday, December 29, 2011

Nobel Peace Prize Recipients

And Then There were 15-Mindfulness In Life and Leadership

October 11, 2011 / Posted in Mindful BusinessMindful LeadershipMindfulness
guan-yin nobel-medal1
Today was added the 13th, 14th and 15th women who have received the Nobel Peace Prize. These women Nobel Prize winners, many who you will not have known until you read about them, embody mindfulness.
The first nine women Peace Prize winners you can read about in this article on the Nobel Prize website in the words of the individuals who presented these women their awards.
Baroness Bertha von Suttner 1905
Jane Addams 1931
Emily Green Balch 1946
Betty Williams 1976
Mariead Corrigan 1976
Mother Teresa 1979
Alva Myrdal 1982
Aung San Suu Kyi 1991
Rogoberta Menchu Tum 1992
Jody Williams 1997
Shrin Ebadi 2003
Wangari Maathai 2004
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf 2011
Leymah Gbowee 2011
Tawakkul Karman 2011
The Nobel Peace Prize 2011 was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson SirleafLeymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”. shares a list of the past awardees and nominees where mindfulness impacted their life and their work as with the 15 women Nobel Peace Prize winners.

No comments:

Post a Comment